This week: Adventures in Virginia

3 Jun

I had a rather productive weekend. … Well, at least as far as blogging is concerned, I should say. The pile of laundry languishing in the corner of my bedroom is mocking my use of the word “productive.”

ANYWAY.

I’m trying to get in the habit of updating more regularly to link my tweets with little essays, rather than just tweeting articles at random. We’ll see if I can manage it.

After examining my “this week in history” calendar, I decided to kick off my regular posts by declaring an unofficial Virginia History Week. Gird your loins.

The preview!

  • June 4, 1781: Thomas Jefferson and the Virginia General Assembly flee invading British forces.
  • June 5, 1779: Virginia’s capital moves from Williamsburg to Richmond.
  • June 7, 1776: Virginian member of the Continental Congress Richard Henry Lee moves for Independence.

Some of these events I discussed in brief on Saturday, which was the 234th anniversary of Thomas Jefferson’s election as Governor of Virginia. Also, keep a look-out for a post highlighting a stop along my Very Revolutionary Road Trip. I’m working out a Facebook page, too, as soon as I can get myself to focus long enough on any one thing.

Happy Monday!

Fun, not-Virginia-related-but-still-historical fact for today: On this day in 1800 President Adams becomes the first President to reside in Washington, D.C., in Tunnicliffe’s City Hotel where the present-day Supreme Court building sits.

Leave a Reply

